Posted by: Amy | January 23, 2011

THE PCOS DIVA MENU PLAN January Week 4

Cooking and eating fresh food nourishes us in a way that frozen packaged meals never will.  I even find shopping for fresh food lifts my spirits.  When you are at the market this week, notice the subtle way you feel when you are selecting fresh, brightly colored produce, versus walking down the canned vegetable aisle.  There is something satisfying about discovering a bunch of beautiful whole beets with greens attached and selecting a mix of  d’anjou , bosc and comice pears that doesn’t compare to picking a can of pears in light syrup off the shelf.  This week, enjoy the process of shopping for fresh produce and pick up something new – I am going to try fennel.

This week I have two soups/stews on the menu.  I often freeze these leftovers in lunch size containers so I (or my husband) can have them for lunch when there are no leftovers handy in the fridge.  If you have never tried lentils Monday’s soup is a great introduction.  I will be perfectly honest with you – I have never cooked with fennel before. This week I added a recipe on Friday for salmon and fennel. Please post what new produce  you are going to try this week

MEATLESS MONDAY – Winter Lentil Soup (5 WW points)  I will have a slice of crusty whole grain bread and some mixed greens.

TUESDAY- Pork Tenderloin Medallions with Cherry Apple Chutney (5 WW points )Pork tenderloin is the leanest cut of pork available.  It is very easy and takes little time to cook.  I will serve this with roasted cauliflower and Quinoa Salad with Dried Cherries and Pistachios (7 WW points)

WEDNESDAY- Sautéed Chicken with Sweet Potatoes and Pears (9 WW points) and Winter Salad with Roasted Beets and Citrus Reduction Dressing (3 WW points) I will make this salad and serve it today and tomorrow.  Just don’t toss with the dressing so the greens stay fresh on Thursday.

THURSDAY –  Cranberry Beef Stew (11 WW points) with leftover Winter Salad

FRIDAY –  Seared Salmon with White Beans and Fennel (11 WW points) I will serve with some sautéed spinach and maybe some crudites.

I hope you are enjoying some of these recipes.  If you have a PCOS friendly recipe that you will prepare this week, please share with us!

Responses

  1. Hi – These recipes sound great! But I’m curious, are the WW points you have listed based on the old method of calculation or the new PointsPlus values? Thanks!

    • I usually mention that they are the new points system. My husband is doing WW and has lost 12 lbs this month!

  2. It is very easy and takes little time to cook.?


Leave a Reply

Categories

