Posted by: Amy | September 28, 2009

PCOS MEAL PLAN RECIPES – Roast Chicken “Planned Over”

Lemon chicken

In my last post, I talked about adding “planned overs” to your weekly meal plan. Instead of haphazard left-overs that sometimes get eaten and sometimes get lost in the fridge, you actually plan to make one meal that can be transformed into another meal later in the week. Here is an example of what my “planned over” looked like last week.

SUNDAY – My grocery store was have a special on roasting chickens. I purchased a 6.5lb roaster and made a Lemon-Rosemary Roast Chicken for dinner on Sunday. I basically rubbed a mixture of olive oil, salt, pepper, lemon zest and chopped fresh rosemary, underneath the skin. Then I stuffed the cavity with a lemon cut in wedges, an onion cut in wedges and a sprig of rosemary. Roasted it at 400 for about an 1.5 hours. I served with roasted potatoes (my kids love spuds and I usually only have a few bites because potatoes are high glycemic), steamed green beans and sauted summer squash.

MONDAY – Since I had the rosemary on hand, I looked on Myrecipes.com for a soup that contained chicken and rosemary. All you have to do is type “soup rosemary chicken” in the search and here is popped up Chicken and White Beans Soup with Greens. I followed the directions but added the defatted pan juices, and leftover veggies from the night before. The soup was excellent. Served it with a salad and toasted Ezekial Bread.

TUESDAY I still had chicken over to make left Curried Chicken Salad for lunch.

So I hope you get the gist. I promise to share successful (i.e. received the Medling Family seal of approval) “planned overs” with you in the weeks and months ahead!

Leave a Reply

Categories

