Posted by: Amy | September 16, 2009

NUTS – THE PERFECT PORTABLE PCOS SNACK

mixed-nutsHave you ever been caught empty handed? You know what it’s like, it’s 3PM and you are starving because you didn’t eat enough protein for lunch. Starbucks is calling your name. Since there is really nothing healthy to eat in the near vicinity, a vanilla latte and a muffin wouldn’t hurt a bit. Except come 5pM you are now crashing , cranky and tired. I can’t tell you how many times I have been there.

But I have found a new ally in my war against low-blood sugar hunger pangs – raw nuts. I stash little snack size ziplock bags of nuts in my car, my purse, the diaper bag or pantry – essentially any place that I may need to grab a little blood sugar stabilizer during the day. Sometimes I sprinkle in just a few unsweetened dried blueberries or cranberries and some pumpkin and sunflower seeds make a great clean eating trail mix. Because nuts are high in calories it is important to know what is actually in a serving size. But do not fear, research has shown that people who eat nuts are less likely to gain weight than those who don’t (1)

Here are my favorite nuts and the serving size (pieces):

Almonds 20-24

Cashews 16 – 18

Pecans 18-20

Pistachios 45-47

Walnuts 8-11

Please comment and share your favorite portable PCOS snacks!

1: J Nutr. 2008 Sep;138(9):1741S-1745S.

Responses

  1. Nuts are so healthy and great for you!

    • I just heard Dr. OZ say that 15% of the calories in nuts are used to digest them, so it makes them even a better calorie efficient snack!

  2. Nuts are a great snack food! I have recently fell in love with the simple process of roasting almonds and walnuts. I am eager to try roasting pecans to see how they turn out and am enjoying the different flavor roasting brings 🙂

    Thank you for this site. I am a recent arrival and am thankful that you are brave enough to share your adventure with us 🙂

    • I love your attitude! It certainly is an adventure. Nuts are really my go to snack. I always have a bag of almonds and a piece of fruit on me – in my car, in my purse and toasted pecans are the best.

  3. Loving nuts! Filling me up and keeping the blood sugar happy.

    Do you have any PCOS aproved reiceps for flavoring nuts? Cinnamon and other spices are PCOS aproved- have you ever tried to liven your nuts up with such spices.

    • Spicing up nuts sounds great. Cayenne, cumin, chili would be great. Cinnamon is wonderful for PCOS.


Leave a Reply

Categories

