Posted by: Amy | September 13, 2009

STEEL CUT OATS – A PERFECT PCOS BREAKFAST

irishoatmeal_done_550x366shklIt is beginning to feel like fall in New Hampshire. The mornings are brisk while walking the kids to school and I haven’t felt like starting my day with an ice cold whey protein smoothie. I have been craving a hot comforting breakfast and a hot bowl of oatmeal and berries will surely satisfy.

I have mentioned in previous posts that I follow Dr. Oz’s advice and try to “automate” my breakfasts and lunches. For breakfast I usually rotate between, a protein smoothie, protein yogurt parfait or some type of egg dish. But when the weather turns cool my favorite breakfast is oatmeal. Not the Quaker instant -type, it has way too much sugar and is far too processed. It would send my blood sugar soaring. Steel cut oats or slow-cooking oats are a much better choice for women with PCOS . These types of oats are minimally processed, (perfect for eating clean) and will help keep blood sugar levels steady, minimizing cravings. Since oatmeal is a complex carb you need to combine it with protein. When you have PCOS it is critical to combine carbs and protein to keep insulin levels in check. The way I accomplish this is to add 1 scoop of Jay Robb Vanilla Whey Protein Powder (my favorite!) and 1-2 tablespoons of almond butter.

The only downside to steel cut oats (sometimes referred to as Irish or Scottish Oats) is that it can take about 30 minutes to cook. So, I will make 4 servings on Sunday night when I have a little extra time and place them into individual serving containers . The oatmeal will stay fresh in these containers in the refrigerator for up to five days. When it’s time for breakfast, simply reheat then add a splash of milk (almond milk if you avoid dairy like I do).

Amy’s Steel Cut Oatmeal

4 cups water

1 cup organic steel cut oats

1T virgin coconut oil (see my post about VCO)

1 Scoop Jay Robb Vanilla Whey Protein Powder

2T almond butter

1T agave nectar

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 cup frozen blueberries or raspberries

1/2c chopped walnuts, almonds or pecans

1/4 c dried cranberries

Bring water to a boil. Slowly stir in the oats. When oatmeal begins to thicken, reduce heat. Simmer uncovered for 20 minutes. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for another 10 minutes stirring occasionally.

Hope you enjoy! There are some other great oatmeal and hot grain recipes in Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean cookbooks if anyone is interested.

Responses

  1. […] the fall and winter, is oatmeal night. My kids actually look forward to having steel cut oats (see recipe )for dinner. I make a big pot and use the leftovers for breakfast during the beginning of the week. […]

  2. Hi, the book you recommed, The Diet for PCOS and infertility, does not list oats for the recommended level of the plan. Did you eat steelcut oats while on this plan? I’ve tried your recepie and love it! but was dissapointed when I saw that it is not part of the plan. Or am I missing it? I havent’ finished reading the whole book yet.

  3. Thank-you for responding to me on Twitter (@ErinRN) that’s how I found your blog which is filling me with hope because all the changes I need to make seem so overwhelming. Ever since I read Super Foods Rx a few years back (and being an RN) my interest in healthcare and healing has been leaning toward the natural route. Have you ever read “Spontaneous Healing” by Dr. Andrew Weil? I HIGHLY recommend it.

    Anyways, I have a question about oatmeal. I have always loved the Quaker Oats original slow oats. Not the instant, quick stuff. Is this the same as steel cut or similar? Or just like eating that nasty instant stuff?

    • Erin-
      Thanks for the comment. I love Dr. Weil but have not read that particular book. I will pick it up. Like you I always used Quaker Old Fashioned Oats until I started reading great things about Steel Cut Oats. Steal cut is the whole oat kernel which is cut into small pieces. My kids and husband actually prefer the steel cut oats now. They have a heartier texture but take a bit longer to cook – about 30 minutes. By the way, I also have a Facebook page where there are some interesting discussions going on if you want to join. My lifestyle changes didn’t happen overnight. It will take some time but keep plugging away. When you start feeling better it is so worth it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

