Posted by: Amy | September 1, 2009

THE#1 PCOS FAST FOOD – A Smoothie

Smoothie surrounded by fruitWhen you think fast food you probably think greasy hamburgers and trans fat fries. Smoothies have redefined my idea of fast food. My basic smoothie recipe takes literally about a minute to whip up and you can drink it on the go. I find myself reaching for the blender when I have none of my usual protein staples in the fridge. That’s when the kids get grilled frozen waffles for breakfast or grilled cheese for lunch and I’ll have a smoothie. I love Jay Robb Whey Protein. It is sweetened with stevia so there is 0 grams of sugar and no artificial sweeteners. There is also a whopping 25 grams of protein per serving. They best thing about whey protein is that it has been shown to increase insulin sensitivity by to allowing the insulin that your pancreas produces to work more effectively and as a result lower yours blood sugar. *


The PCOS Diva Smoothie

1C Blue Diamond Almond Breeze Unsweetend Almond Milk

1 scoop Jay Robb Vanilla Whey Protein Powder

1/2 banana

1/2 c frozen fruit (any of the following raspberries, blueberries, peaches, strawberries)

1T virgin coconut oil

1T almond butter

2T raw oats

1/2tsp cinnamon

* American Journal of Clinical Nutrition July 2005;82(1):69-75

Responses

  1. This looks great! I have started doing something similar in the mornings and am loving it! It keeps me full, helps me avoid having to ‘turn to’ breads, bagels, cereals …and feels like I’m getting a treat to boot!

    Can’t wait to try this!

    • I think you will like it -especially if you can find the Jay Robb powder. It really helps me with cravings. The virgin coconut oil also helps with blood sugar. More on that later. Please post variations on my recipe if you happen to experiment.

  2. That powder is so expensive 😦

    • I know it is pricey, but the best place to buy it is at Vitamin Shoppe. http://www.vitaminshoppe.com/store/en/browse/sku_detail.jsp?id=J1-1001
      It ends up being about $1.60 per serving – maybe even less because I don’t use two scoops. So I figure even with the expensive protein powder, a smoothie is still cheaper than a lunch or breakfast out.

  3. I’ve been trying a Dr. Oz smoothie per a co workers advice. It’s 1c juice, half banana, 3 strawberries, 2tbs whey protein powder, 2tbs ground flaxseed, 1tbs chia seeds, 1tbs psyllium husk, and 1tbs wheat germ. I think I will try swapping the juice for the almond milk and add the virgin coconut oil. Thanks for the suggestion!


Leave a Reply

Categories

