Posted by: Amy | September 1, 2009

A GREAT BREAKFAST FOR PCOS – Bear Naked and Fruity Yogurt

macro shot of colorful fresh fruitDr. Oz, Oprah’s favorite doc, has it right. A meal plan works best when you “automate” breakfast and lunch. Basically this means you have a few standard breakfasts and lunches that you always have on hand. It makes it a no-brainer to eat on plan and I find it is hard to cheat when you know a healthy option is right in the fridge.

When you have PCOS and are trying to eat to keep your symptoms at bay, this philosophy really works. I try to eat wheat free, low-dairy, low-GI and low-sugar. (I have been able to get pregnant on this diet and personally think it is the best plan for PCOS.) My diet limits many breakfast choices. I can’t grab a muffin or bagel and most cereals are not on my plan. I recently blogged about my favorite smoothie which is one of my automated breakfasts. See post Another favorite breakfast is what I call “Bear Naked & Fruity Yogurt.”

BEAR NAKED & FRUITY YOGURT

1/2 c Stoneyfield Farms Organic Lowfat Plain Yogurt

1/2 scoop Jay Robb Vanilla Whey Protein Powder

1/4 c Bear Naked Fit Granola

1/2 c fresh or frozen fruit (I vary it with what is in season – sometimes berries, peaches or even pomogranete)

1/4 c raw almonds, walnuts or pecans

1/2 tsp cinnamon

The great thing about this breakfast is that it is relatively low in refined sugar. The yogurt is unsweetened. The protein powder is sweetened with stevia and the granola has 4 grams of sugar per serving and it is wheat-free. You can sign up for a free sample of Bear Naked granola on their website .

Interestingly, the Journal of Nutrition recently published a study that found women who ate muesli, yogurt and fruit before an hour long workout burned 50 percent more fat than those who had an equally caloric meal of cornflakes, white toast, jam and milk. The reason is because the yogurt breakfast is low on the glycemic index.

Give my Bear Naked and Fruity Yogurt a try and let me know what you think!

Responses

  1. Hi Amy,
    I found the article on oil pulling fascinating and I am going to try it.
    Regarding PCOS….has anybody ever mentioned that the MTHFR mutation can also cause the same symptoms?

    • Maria-
      You must have found the article on earthclinic.com. I actually have been oil-pulling alternating with sesame and sunflower oil. I really notice the benefits during cold/flu season. I think it definitely strengthens your respiratory and immune system. I also follow earthclinic.com’s advice on virgin coconut oil and apple cider vinegar. I will be blogging about the benefits of both soon!

      I have noticed that the MTHFR mutation symptoms can sometimes be confused with PCOS. There was a study published in the European Journal of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Reproductive Biology Volume 145, Issue 1, July 2009, Pages 85-88 that shows that there is no correlation between the two.

      Thanks for the commments!
      -Amy


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

