Posted by: Amy | September 20, 2009

THE BEST BREAD FOR PCOS

Ezekiel_Sprouted_Grain_BreadLet’s face it, when you have PCOS, you probably struggle daily or even hourly with carb cravings. Every time I pass Panera Bread, a warm crusty french baguette calls out my name. But French bread is very high on the glycemic index (95 to be exact). Eating this enticing bread would send my blood sugar soaring which would set me up for more cravings during the day – it really is a vicious cycle.

So what should you do if you are trying to stay on a low GI diet for your PCOS but you want to enjoy some good bread from time to time? Well, I have the answer for you. Food For Life makes wonderful flourless, sprouted %100 whole grain breads. Their Ezekiel 4:9® Organic Sprouted Whole Grain Products are inspired by the Holy Scripture verse: “Take also unto thee Wheat, and Barley, and beans, and lentils, and millet, and Spelt, and put them in one vessel, and make bread of it…” Ez 4:9 Miraculously when these six grains and legumes are sprouted and combined, a complete protein is created that closely parallels the protein in milk in eggs. There are 18 amino acids present in this unique bread, all from vegetable sources.The bread contains absolutely no flour. Water is added to the organic sprouted grains . The sprouting process causes a natural change that allows the protein and carbohydrates to be assimilated by the body more efficiently.

Okay, your probably thinking how can sprouted grain and legume bread possibly be a fill in for a Panera french baguette or bagel? Trust me, you’ll be pleasantly surprised. The Original  (seen in picture above) is really delicious when toasted with a little butter. It is a great crusty bread to serve with soups or even use for an open-faced sandwich. Each slice contains only 15g carbs with 3g fiber so that is only net 12g carbs per slice and 4g protein. There is zero sugar and the glycemic index for the Original Ezekial 4:9 Bread is only 36!

Food For Life also makes a wonderful cinnamon raisin bread. I love this in the mornings smeared with a little coconut oil (see my post on the benefits of coconut oil for PCOS) as a side for eggs. For a quick breakfast spread a slice with some almond butter and top with thinly sliced apples and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  I have even made french toast.  Due to the added raisins the carb count is higher (18g ), as well as the glycemic index (43). Food For Life also has a line of  sprouted grain english muffins, cereals, tortillas, wraps and pasta which are all great for a low GI diet.  Keep in mind that these products are not gluten-free.  As a rule, I try to stay away from wheat and gluten but Ezekial breads are an exception for me.  They don’t impact my blood sugar like regular wheat products.

My local grocery store carries the bread in their health food section.  It is usually in the frozen food case.   Here is a link to a store finder.  I hope there is a store in your area!

Responses

  1. This is fantastic! When I go to the grocery tomorrow I am going to pick up a loaf for me. Being a typical Southern Gal, I love bread. Knowing I can have this bread and not be affected is fantastic!

    • Thanks for the comment Lisa. Let me know how you like it. Jillian Michaels from Biggest Loser endorses it in her new book “Master Your Metabolism.” and Bob Harper from The Biggest Loser tweets about it. My kids even eat their PBJ on the Cinnamon Raisin!

  2. Thanks soooo much!!! this has been ridiculously helpful!!! juz got diagnosed and in process of changing stuff

  3. I was just diagnosed and am “eating” up every bit of information I can find so I can armour myself for the doctors visits. Thanks for the inspiration! ( of course one of the first things I google is “PCOS BREAD” how fitting !

    • Thanks Aimee. I am reading The PCOS Diet Plan right now. Great info to arm yourself for the Dr. visits. I am working on a blog post about gluten sensitivity and PCOS. Sprouted wheat bread may not be great for women with gluten sensitivity. I love Udi’s Gluten Free Wholegrain Bread. It is a wonderful substitute but make sure you only eat one piece per meal because it is a bit higher in carbs and low fiber.

  4. Hi there,
    I just recently got diagnosed with PCOS and am trying to figure out what to eat and what not to eat. Is it ok to eat 100% whole wheat crackers, or brown rice and brown rice pasta? Or are all of these a no-no?
    Thanks in advance for the help.

    • Hi Sharon-
      Most important rule is to stay away from processed food. So many “whole grain” products are still processed. You can eat whole grains and should with most meals. I go with the plate rule – 1/2 plate veggies, 1/4 plate starchy vegetable or whole grain (brown rice, whole grain pasta, quinoa, farro, amaranth) and 1/4 plate protein. See my post regarding food journaling. Start taking note of how you feel eating certain whole grains. I don’t like how I feel after eating whole wheat and suspect it is due to gluten. I rarely eat wheat now but still can tolerate the Ezekial bread – probably because it is sprouted. I am a firm believer that no diet is perfect for everyone – you have to listen to your body.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

